flyer

The Alaia surf house is located in the centre of Corralejo, just a stone's throw from the sea and the main street. Alaia were the names of the traditional Hawaiian boards used for hundreds of years in the Pacific to surf the waves. These flat, solid wooden boards, which had hardly any rocker and no keels, had not been used since the late 19th century. In 2006, when shaper Tom Wegener tested his Paulonia wood prototypes among pro surfers, the Alaia board experienced a spectacular renaissance.

These boards force us to find a perfect position, a special balance and to use the edges as a turning tool, as they normally lack fins, and thus we only glide on the water. Their use is also defended for ecological reasons, because the wood of the Paulonia does not need to be glazed with polyester or fibres, grows quickly, does not wear out the ground and is practically fireproof.

We offer rental of these and other boards, and are happy to teach you the actions as part of our Personal Travel Coaching. Find out about these and more activities in our surf house, or use our coworking space with free WiFi. In the evenings, the surf house transforms into the "Alaia Vintage Surf Bar", perfect to end the day together with a drink, surf videos and good music.

We are in the centre of Corralejo:

In Centro Atlantico on Corralejo main street

flyerDas Surfhaus Alaia befindet sich im Zentrum von Corralejo, nur einen Steinwurf vom Meer und von der Hauptstraße entfernt. Alaia hießen die traditionellen hawaiianischen Bretter die seit Hunderten von Jahren im Pazifik benutzt wurden, um die Wellen zu surfen. Diese flachen, massiven Holzbretter, die kaum Wippen und keine Kiele hatten, wurden seit Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts nicht mehr verwendet. 2006, als Shaper Tom Wegener seine Prototypen aus Paulonia-Holz unter Pro-Surfern testete erlebte das Alaia Board eine spektakuläre Renaissance. 

Diese Bretter zwingen uns zu einer perfekten Position, einer besonderen Balance und dazu, die Kanten als Drehwerkzeug zu nutzen, da ihnen normalerweise die Finnen fehlen, und wir dadurch nur auf dem Wasser gleiten. Ihre Verwendung wird auch aus ökologischen Gründen verteidigt, denn das Holz der Paulonia muss nicht mit Polyester oder Fasern lasiert werden, wächst schnell, nutzt den Boden nicht ab und ist praktisch feuerfest.

Wir bieten den Verleih dieser und anderer Boards an, und unterrichten ihnen gerne die handlungen als teil unseres Personal Travel Coaching. Informieren sie sich über diese und mehr aktivitäten in unserem Surfhaus, oder nutzen sie unser Coworking Space mit gratis WiFi. Abends verwandelt sich das Surfhaus in die „Alaia Vintage Surf Bar“, perfekt um den Tag gemeinsam bei einem Drink, Surfvideos und guter Musik ausklingen zu lassen.

Wir sind im Zentrum von Corralejo:

Im Centro Atlantico an der Hauptstrasse von Corralejo